RSS

I need a change of pace.

01 Feb

I sat at my desk at work today and was bored. I am just plain bored there. I’ve been getting better at telling myself that I’m only staying there until after my boss’ baby is born, then I’m restarting my job hunt. Some days just get hard to sit through though, especially since my job is rarely intellectually stimulating and I get little to no respect.

In the meantime, I’ve really been trying to change things up in my life – I’m training with a personal trainer three times per week, I play volleyball once per week, and I’m a member of a women’s volunteer group that meets a few times per month. So far, doing all of this has certainly helped, but I’m still not fully happy. Before my anxiety and depression blew up almost two years ago (wow, time flies), I was always happy regardless of my situation. I was courageous and had lots of faith in myself and the world at large. I’ve been a lot better, my depression is gone and my anxiety is phenomenally better, but I still have to fight to relax and just be happy and enjoy.

I feel as though my job is the one thing that’s really holding me back at this point. I want more flexibility and I want meaningful work. The day-to-day boredom is mind numbing and I want to be excited to go to work in the morning. In theory, I’d really like to start my own business, but for now, at 26, I’m just focusing on having steady employment within my field. However, for now, I’ve made the decision to stay put and do the right thing for karma’s sake. I also needed a break from the job hunt – looking for a job in investments is difficult in this economy.

In a selfish way, I hope down the line that my patience pays off and I am rewarded for helping my boss out.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 1, 2012 in Changing My Situation, Life's Goals

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “I need a change of pace.

  1. thewondermya

    February 2, 2012 at 3:00 am

    Hi there !
    You are certainly having a clear view of what’s going on and that is very important and enabling you to do what’s needed to improve. I like the calm analysis you are making. I am sure you will tackle the challenge and get to a happier place and more fulfilling life.

     
    • AlyssTG

      February 2, 2012 at 11:24 am

      Hi! I hope so – thank you for the support. I could sure use it at this point! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
